San Francisco – Fisherman’s Wharf Ladies

FishermanswharfboatsC40

Ladies of Fisherman’s Wharf

Colorful Ladies, tied here all alone

Give me one more reason

Fish with me one more season

Take me out to sea

Guard me, watch me

Protect me, but let me be

I am just your lover,

you my lady fair

No finer one can I but ask for,

Please sit here with me

One more time alone

These are the iconic boats of Fisherman’s Wharf in San Francisco. Do you think they get tired of being photographed so many thousands of times? Or is that just our notion in that we seem to have seen them so many times, even if we have not gone to San Francisco before. This photo was taken on a very quiet Sunday morning. None the less having gone here twice in my life some 40 years apart, the photo still evokes in me a certain quaint calmness of old-time fisherman and times gone by. Yes, I have done a bit of fishing with my father in my youth and therefore the nostalgia.

Photograph and poetry copyrighted by Jean-Bernard Cabana  (c) 2013.

(click to enlarge photo)

