On this Rock – El Capitan or a new Rock of the church choosen today

ElCapC10

El Capitan – Yosemite

“And I tell you, you are Peter, and on this rock I shall build my church, and the gates of Hades will not prevail against it.” Matthew 16:18

And on this 13th day of March 2013, the Catholic Church in Rome has choosen a simple and humble man from the distant shores of Argentina whom we shall call Pope Francis.

Pope Francis I appears on the central balcony

Pope Francis (Getty images)

And it is with this feeling of joy that I remind those of who St. Francis is by the prayer attributed to him and his character,

and that we all may try just a little to live such a simple and sincere life of service to others.

calm_mountain_prayer

St. Francis Prayer

(click photo to enlarge prayer)

Yosemite photograph copyrighted by Jean-Bernard Cabana   (c) 2013.

